Focus Home Interactive has released the third episode of Dontnod Presents Vampyr, entitled Architects of the Obscure. This installment is part three in a four-part web series that goes behind-the-scenes into the making of Focus and Dontnod Entertainment’s upcoming RPG Vampyr. The remaining episode will be released next Thursday:

  1. Making Monsters
  2. Architects of the Obscure
  3. Human After All
  4. Stories From the Dark

Vampyr is scheduled to be released sometime this Spring for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.


In Episode III: Human After All, Dontnod reveals how integral each districts citizens are, both in terms of gameplay and narrative. Players will need to gain XP for Jonathan Reid to evolve new powers and grow stronger, but the most lucrative way to earn this is not through quests or defeating enemies in battle. Instead, the most effective way to get stronger is by killing and feeding on the various citizens living within the game’s four districts. Players are able to increase the XP from each citizen, by curing their illnesses and gaining more insight into their lives and emotions – but the price can be immense.

As explained by Stéphane Beauverger, Vampyr’s narrative director, players will hear the dying thoughts of every citizen they choose to sacrifice. This gives a bittersweet poignancy to every death, as Dontnod wants players to not consider these citizens as nameless blood bags. In addition, each dead citizen will erode the status of the district they belonged to, with too many resulting in the population evacuating districts and causing them to be overrun by Skals and worse.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here